First Team

Naismith does the double at POTY Awards

13th May 2019

Steven Naismith picked up two Player of the Year gongs in the Gorgie Suite last night at Hearts' annual awards ceremony, sponsored by Mercedes-Benz of Edinburgh.

On-loan Norwich striker Naismith won both Fans' Player and Players' Player of the Year after a season in which he scored 18 goals in 27 appearances.

He wasn't the only man to pick up awards as eight other prizes were dished out.

The Youth awards, sponsored by Jambos Kickback Fans' Forum, were the first to be announced with recent first-team debutant Aaron Hickey picking up the Youth to Pro award, recognizing Aaron's adjustment to life as a full-time professional.

Next up was the Reserves Player of the Year, voted for by the coaches. That went to Bulgarian centre-half Alex Petkov, who was also on the bench in last Friday's clash with Aberdeen.

Finally, the Overall Young Player of the Year, sponsored by Arthur McKay, was awarded to John Souttar, who won it for the second year in a row. 22-year-old John has enjoyed a fantastic twelve months that has seen him captain his club - with one of the best records ever - and pick up 3 caps for Scotland.

The Doc Melvin Award, was next to to be presented and it went to club historians Bill Smith and David Speed.

After a short dinner break, Craig Levein was on hand to present the Special Recognition prize, sponsored by Hardies Property & Construction Consultants, which was won by a speechless Andy Kirk, head coach of the Reserves side. Andy has enjoyed a fantatsic first full-year in the role, which culminated in lifting the Reserve League Cup in April.


Save of the Season, sponsored by The Football Company, was the next award, fiercely contested by our two first-team goalkeepers Bobby Zlamal and Colin Doyle. This time, Bobby was the winner after his fantastic - and crucial - semi-final save against Inverness when he tipped Joe Chalmers' free-kick onto the crossbar.

Steven Naismith then picked up his first award, the Fans' Player of the Year (sponsored by Jambos Kickback) prize. Despite injuries this season, Naisy has been a hugely popular player and his impact has been clear for all to see - hence why Craig Levein is so keen to bring him back in the summer.

Then there were the awards for Goal of the Season (sponsored by Charlie Irons Coaches) and Memorable Moment (sponsored by Simpatico Financial) - which both occured on one cold December night in the green half of Edinburgh.

Olly Lee's rocket to beat fierce rivals Hibs 1-0 was the obvious Goal of the Season winner, and that night in general won Memorable Moment, for which Michael Smith picked up the gong.

After a fantastic after dinner speech from Peter Martin, who also interviewed former Jambo star Kevin Kyle, it was time for the big award - Players' Player of the Year (sponsored by Mercedes-Benz of Edinburgh).

There were votes for Bobby Zlamal, Arnaud Djoum and Michael Smith, but the overall winner was once again Steven Naismith, picking up his second award of the night.

(All images courtesy of Ron MacNeill)