Shanks at the treble! | Player of the Year

24 April 2023

Our number nine was voted by supporters and teammates as the Fans' and Players' Player of the Year, and also picked up the Memorable Moment award after equaling John Robertson's scoring record at Easter Road. 

Hosted by Scott Wilson, supporters, sponsors and guests raised a glass to winners from the First Team, Hearts Women, and the B Team as the 2022/23 season approaches its climax. 

Here are the winners: 

The Foundation of Hearts Award - Stevie Morris

The inaugural Foundation of Hearts award, sponsored by Edinburgh Risk Management General, recognises a Hearts supporter who has gone above and beyond to to support the club, their fellow fans or has otherwise done remarkable work for the Foundation.

Stevie Morris won for his exceptional bravery in sharing his story of being diagnosed with Motor Neurone Disease and helping raise awareness. In an emotional address, Stevie talked about his hopes for a cure for MND one day and spoke of his deep affection for Heart of Midlothian.

Doc Melvin Award - Martine Collie

The Doc Melvin award, presented in memory of much-missed Team Doctor Dewar Melvin, honours someone who has worked behind the scenes to support Heart of Midlothian Football Club.

The club's Facilities Manager, Martine Collie, won in light of her long and loyal service - and her tireless work in getting Tynecastle Park ready for this season's UEFA Europa Conference League group stage matches. Tynecastle is now rated as a Category 4 stadium, a leap from the Category 2 status it previously held prior to this season.

Special Recognition - Craig Gordon

Craig Gordon created more history in 2021 when he broke the record held by Steven Pressley as Hearts' most capped player for Scotland. Speaking on stage, Craig talked of his hopes for the future and his desire to play at Tynecastle again. 

Sponsored by Selective Personnel

B-Team Rising Star and Player of the Year - Bobby McLuckie and Macaulay Tait

Bobby McLuckie picked up the B-Team Rising Star award (sponsored by JB Contracts) after a meteoric rise through the academy. Still just 16 years old, Bobby has been an ever-present in the Lowland League this year and has made the bench for the first team this campaign.

Alongside that, he also was part of a Scotland U17s team that qualified for the European Championships in Hungary this summer.

Macaulay Tait won the B-Team Player of the Year award (sponsored by Members of Jambos Kickback Fans' Forum) Macaulay’s impressive performances this season have seen him handed the captains armband and be named in the first-team matchday squad against Celtic in March.

A box-to-box midfielder, Macaulay impresses in and out of possession and although it is often his good dribbling and passing that initially springs to mind, his ability to read the game, intercept and break up opposition attacks is equally impressive.

Memorable Moment - Lawrence Shankland

With several wondeful moments to choose from, the judges had their work cut out with this award.

Lawrence Shankland earned the prize for his stunning goal at Easter Road that saw him equal the legendary John Robertson's long-standing record of 20 goals in a season.

Sponsored by Scotia Security. 

Hearts Women Rising Star and Player of the Year - Monica Forsyth and Ciara Grant

Monica Forsyth won the Rising Star award (sponsored by UserTesting) and has been a real driving force in the Hearts midfield this season since returning from injury.

Having spent almost a year on the sidelines after suffering cruciate ligament damage in December 2021, Monica has returned hungrier than ever and is now one of the first names on the team sheet.

Ciara Grant won the Player of the Year award (sponsored by Meadowfield Garage) The signing of Ciara Grant last summer was a real statement from Hearts. A player who won the SWPL1 title with Rangers the season prior.

Ciara’s delivery from a dead-ball has caused havoc for every defence in the league this season, and has been an ever-present in Eva Olid's team this campaign.

Save of the Season - Zander Clark's double-save vs Hibs

With Craig Gordon, Zander Clark and Ross Stewart all producing eye-catching saves across the course of the season - it was another competitive field for the award.

But it was Zander's heroic double-save in January's Edinburgh derby win at Tynecastle that clinched the prize. Sponsored by Stellar Omada, the award was presented by Colin Frame.

Goal of the Season - Stephen Humphrys vs Dundee United

Unlikely to cause any debate, Humps' sensational strike from his own half against Dundee United in February claimed the award.

Sponsored by ASC Edinburgh. 

Fans' and Players' Player of the Year - Lawrence Shankland

Lawrence Shankland's goals have been vital to Hearts this season and his influence on the side continued to grow as the season progressed. 

Blessed with an eye for goal and exceptional work ethic, Lawrence also took the captain's armband in stead of the injured Craig Gordon and has led from the front in style. 

An excellent and memorable debut season with Hearts as recongnised by supporters and his teammates. 

Fans' Player of the Year, sponsored by the Football Company

Players' Player of the Year, Sponsored by Western Mercedes-Benz

Images courtesy of David Mollison