Buckie beat B Team in Trust Trophy

09 October 2022

B team manager, Steven Naismith, made four changes to the side that drew with Civil Service Strollers on Saturday. Connor Smith, Cammy Logan, Lewis Neilson, and Euan Henderson were all brought into the side.
Buckie almost took the lead inside the opening 45 seconds, but Harry Stone was on hand to beat Joshua Peters effort to safety.
After an even start, the game came alive after the first water break with chances at both ends either side of the half hour mark.
Firstly, Henderson lobbed wide after good play from Bailey Dall. The visitors then went even closer to breaking the deadlock when Peters hit the post from a tight angle.
The men in maroon did take the lead eleven minutes before the interval and it was no surprise to see Smith was involved. Finlay Pollock did well to hurdle a challenge in the middle of the pitch, before sliding in Henderson. The forward was fouled as he took the ball round Herbert, but the referee played advantage allowing Smith to tap the ball home.
It was the same old story for The Wee Jambos four minutes into the second half however, as Jack Murray rose highest to power home Sam Pugh’s corner.
Hearts continued to dominate possession and they nearly got their noses back in front when Smith looked certain to restore the lead, but was magnificently thwarted by Herbert, and with the aid of the crossbar, the visitors survived.
Naismith’s side weren’t to be denied however and just three minutes later, Hearts did retake the lead. Again, it came from good play up the right and this time Scott McGill was waiting to fire the ball home.
Buckie again came back firing and when Cohen Ramsay was allowed too much time to bring down a high cross and get his shot off, the scores were level once again.
Just two minutes later, Buckie completed their comeback. Sam Pugh’s freekick squirmed under Harry Stone to ensure a happy bus ride home for the travelling support.
Hearts: Stone, Logan, C. Smith, McGill, (Ferguson, 76), Darge, Tait, Pollock, Denholm, Dall, Neilson (Rathie, 63), Henderson
Subs: McFarlane, Ferguson, Thomas, Gordon, Rathie, Sandilands
Buckie Thistle: Herbert, Wood, (Munro, 74) Murray, Fraser, Macleod, Peters, Ramsay, McCabe, Pugh, Goodall, Adams
Subs: Demus, Mackinnon, Macaskill, Urquhart, Milne, Munro