Hearts Women win the Capital Cup

26 February 2023

Eva Olid made one change to the side that defeated Partick Thistle in the Scottish Cup a fortnight ago as Katie Rood replaced Gwen Davies.

The first half was 45 minutes that lacked any real rhythm from either side, however, it was the visitors who got themselves ahead after 21 minutes. A shot from distance deflected into the path of Michaela McAlonie, who turned smartly and found the bottom corner.

Into the second half and whatever Eva Olid said at half-time, it clearly had the desired effect as Hearts created a number of openings in the early stages of the second half. Firstly, Monica Forsyth got to the byline and crossed for Georgia Timms at the front post, but her goal-bound effort was deflected behind and just seconds later, Addison Handley’s looping cross almost caught out Benedicte Haaland, who did well to tip the ball over the crossbar.

Up the other end, Hibs almost doubled their lead from a corner when Joelle Murray rose highest to meet Leah Eddie’s corner, but Charlotte Parker-Smith was alert to deny her.

Just when it looked like the equaliser wasn’t going to arrive, Hearts captain Georgia Hunter rose highest to power home Ciara Grant’s corner from the left and rescue a point in the 89th minute.

Incredibly, Hearts almost took all three points in stoppage time when substitute Gwen Davies crossed for Georgia Timms, who off balance, could only fire over.

The points were shared, but a penalty shoot-out followed to determine who would take home the Capital Cup and after successful penalties from Grant, Jenna Penman, Erin Rennie, Timms, Handley and Sampson, Parker-Smith sprung to her left to deny Eddie and ensure Hearts were the side lifting the Capital Cup.

Hearts: Parker-Smith, Brownlie, Hunter ©, Grant, Forsyth, Timms, Smith (Rennie, 69), Handley, Sampson, Rood (G. Davies, 69), Michie (McAllister, 77)

Subs: Currie, Penman, Anderson, Rennie, McAllister (90), G. Davies, Connor Cowan

Hibernian: Haaland, Leishman, Hunter, Eddie, Hinds, McAlonie, Adams, Lockwood, Notley, Murray ©, Morrison

Subs: Kosinka, Mustafa, Tweedie, Kuyken, Nunn