Club News

Award winners

24th April 2017

The 2017 Hearts Player of the Year Awards took place at the EICC on Sunday night.

Players, staff and supporters of Heart of Midlothian gathered at the EICC on Sunday night for the club’s Player of the Year Awards ceremony.

The host for the evening, "the voice of Hearts" Scott Wilson, took to the stage to kick off proceedings and the first award of the night, the Doc Melvin Memorial Award, went to the dynamic due of Jim and Alison Ross.

The Celebration of Youth Awards saw Euan Henderson crowned U17s Player of the Year, with Rory Currie named U20s Player of the Year. The Overall Young Player of the Year Award, as voted for by the first team and U20 squad, went to Callum Paterson.

Club stalwart and current Head of Pro Recruitment, John Murray, picked up the George Nicolson Award.

Elsewhere, Arnaud Djoum received the Special Recognition Award for his outstanding Africa Cup of Nations success with Cameroon earlier this year.

The Main Stand Memory Award went to club legend John Robertson who has made the most competitive appearances in front of the Archibald Leitch Stand.

Callum Paterson then picked up his second award of the night for his Goal of the Season against Motherwell back in September.

The second double winner was Jamie Walker who was voted both Fans’ Player of the Year and Players’ Player of the Year.